Current Active Indian Metro Rails

There are 12 Operational Rapid Transit (also known as "Metro") systems in 12 cities. For example, the Delhi Metro itself is connected to some other nearby cities in the National Capital Region.

Metro CityMetro Name
DelhiDelhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC)
GurgaonRapid Metro Gurgaon (RMG)
JaipurJaipur Metro Rail Corporation Ltd (JMRC)
MumbaiMumbai Metro Rail Corporation Limited (MMRC)
BangaloreNamma Metro
HyderabadHyderabad Metro Rail (HMR)
ChennaiChennai Metro Rail (CMRL)
KochiKochi Metro Rail Limited (KMRL)
KolkataKolkata Metro Rail Corporation Ltd (KMRC)
LucknowLucknow Metro Rail Corporation (LMRC)
NoidaNoida Metro Rail Corporation Ltd (NMRC)
NagpurNagpur Metro Rail (NMR)

Metro Rails Under Different Stages

Besides, as many as 15 other cities in India have over 500 km of metro lines under different stages of implementation. These include:

Metro CityMetro Name
AhmedabadGujarat Metro Rail Corporation Limited
PunePune Metropolitan Region Development Authority
IndoreMadhya Pradesh Metro Rail Corporation
BhopalMadhya Pradesh Metro Rail Corporation
VaranasiUttar Pradesh Metro Rail Corporation
KozhikodeKerala Rapid Transit Corporation Ltd
VijayawadaAmaravati Metro Rail Corporation (AMRC)
MeerutUttar Pradesh Metro Rail Corporation
VisakhapatnamAmaravati Metro Rail Corporation (AMRC)
KanpurLucknow Metro Rail Corporation
AgraUttar Pradesh Metro Rail Corporation
CoimbatoreChennai Metro Rail Limited
PatnaDelhi Metro Rail Corporation
Navi MumbaiCity and Industrial Development Corporation (CIDCO)
GuwahatiGuwahati Metropolitan Development Authority

Metro Rail Networks in India

As of August 2019, India has 659.41 kilometers (409.74 mi) of operational metro lines and 502 stations. Further 500+ km long lines are under construction. The metro rail lines in India are mainly made up of standard gauges. Projects like Kolkata Metro and Delhi Metro used broad gauge for their initial lines but all new projects in India are on standard gauge as the rolling stock is of standard gauge. Apart from Kolkata Metro (which forms its own area of Indian Railways), these fast transit metro lines are operated not by Indian Railways but by individual local authorities. Apart from their metro systems, the cities of Chennai and Hyderabad have large scale transit systems operated by Indian Railways, known as Chennai MRTS and Hyderabad MMTS respectively.