Bangalore Metro Route

The Bangalore Metro is a rapid transit system serving the city of Bangalore in Karnataka, India. Currently Bangalore Metro network has 51 active stations. Find important and useful information like Bangalore Metro route, metro lines, service operation timings, first train, last train, route map, fare chart, top attractions near metro station, metro station nearby, news and more.

OperatorNamma Metro Bangalore
Operation start20 October 2011
Number of lines2 Metro Lines
Train length6 Coaches
No. of stations51 Active Stations
Metro Timings⏱Starting | Ending
05:30 AM | 11:00 PM

◩ Bangalore Metro Lines (Terminal Stations)
  Purple Line Metro (Baiyappanahalli - Kengeri)   Green Line Metro (Nagasandra - Silk Institute)
  Yellow Line (Rashtreeya Vidyalaya Road - Bommasandra)
  Pink Line (Gottigere - Nagawara)
  Blue Line (Central Silk Board - Kempegowda International Airport)

Bangalore Metro Fare Chart

Sorry! Fare Chart Not available.

Interesting Facts about Bangalore Metro

  • Bangalore Metro or Bengaluru Metro is a rapid transit system serving the city of Bangalore, India.
  • Bangalore Metro als known as "Namma Metro" ("Our Metro" in Kannada). This is the First Metro rail project in India commissioned with 750V DC Third Rail on Standard Guage.
  • It is the first metro rail service started in Southern India, and also it also contains the first underground metro line in Southern India.
  • Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation Limited (BMRCL), a joint venture of Government of India and Government of Karnataka is a Special Purpose Vehicle entrusted with the responsibility of implementation of Bangalore Metro Rail Project.
  • Civil construction on the first section, the stretch of the Purple Line between Baiyyappanahalli and Mahatma Gandhi Road, commenced on 15 April 2007. The section opened to the public on 20 October 2011 by Union Urban Development Minister Kamal Nath.
  • The eastwest corridor is named Purple Line (Purple Line) And the northernmost corridor is named Green Line (Green Line).
  • Namma metro runs on speed of Max 80 Kmph and Average 34Kmph.
  • On Purple line first train starts at 05:00 AM and last train 23:35 PM towards MYSORE ROAD. And Towards BAIYAPPANAHALLI first train at 05:00 AM and last train at 23:40 PM.
  • NAGASANDRA To YELECHENAHALLI First train at 05:00 AM and Last train at 23:25 PM.
  • The Ticket media used in Namma Metro is primarily contactless technology. These are: Tokens (for single journey) and Contactless Smart Cards (for multiple journeys).
  • Tickets are not required for children below 3 feet. No age criteria is considered.
  • Penalty for ticketless travel or lost ticket is Rs.200/- apart from maximum token fare.
  • Add-value in the Smart Card shall be valid for one year from the date of last add-value. The validity extension can be done by paying administrative charges of Rs. 20/- at Customer Care Center of any station.

Bangalore Metro News

If all goes to plan, employees working at Bagmane Tech Park in CV Raman Nagar won’t have to worry about last-mile connectivity from the nearest Metro station. Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation (BMRCL) sources said they have received a proposal from Bagmane Group to construct a 2-km monorail network from Swami Vivekananda Road Metro station (Purple Line) to its tech park.

Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation Limited has turned down a request from Bangalore Metropolitan Transport Corporation seeking vacant land behind Kengeri Bus Terminal Metro Station. BMTC officials said they had asked for the land mainly for electric buses and also to set up a small bus stand.

The Purple Line of Bengaluru Namma Metro will face interruptions in services on December 4, due to civil maintenance works from 5 pm on Saturday to 7 am on Sunday. The works are being taken up between the Trinity and Halasuru metro stations and as a result, the entire stretch from Baiyappanahalli to Trinity metro stations will remain shut for the said period. The stretch includes the Baiyappanahalli, Swami Vivekananda Road, Indiranagar, Halasuru and Trinity metro stations.

Bangalore Metro FAQs:

𝒜. Namma Metro Bangalore operates Bangalore Metro system.

𝒜. First service of Bangalore metro service begins on 20 October 2011.

𝒜. Bangalore metro system has 2 Metro Lines (active/fucntional).

𝒜. Bangalore metro trains have 6.

𝒜. Bangalore metro timings are: 05:30 AM | 11:00 PM.