Delhi Metro Routes

The Delhi Metro is a rapid transit system serving the city of Delhi and NCR cities of India includes Ghaziabad, Faridabad, Gurgaon, Noida, Bahadurgarh and Ballabhgarh. Currently Delhi Metro network has 230 active stations. Here you will get information about Delhi Metro such as metro lines, train starts from, train ends to, route map, top attractions in city nearby metro stations, interesting facts, fare chart, city metro news etc.

OperatorDelhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC)
Operation start24 December 2002
Number of lines10 Metro Lines
Train length4/6/8 coaches
No. of stations230 Active Stations
Metro TimingsStarting: 05:00 AM
Ending: 11:30 PM

◩ Delhi Metro Lines (Terminal Stations)
  Red Line Metro (Shaheed Sthal - Rithala)   Yellow Line Metro (Samaypur Badli - HUDA City Centre)   Blue Main Line Metro (Noida Electronic City - Dwarka Sec 21)   Blue Branch Line Metro (Vaishali - Dwarka Sec 21)   Green Main Line Metro (Inderlok - Brigadier Hoshiyar Singh)   Green Branch Line Metro (Kirti Nagar - Ashok Park Main)   Violet Line Metro (Kashmere Gate - Raja Nahar Singh)   Orange Line Metro (New Delhi Railway Station - Dwarka Sec 21)   Pink Main Line Metro (Mayur Vihar Pocket 1 - Majlis Park)   Pink Branch Line Metro (Shiv Vihar - Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake)   Magenta Line Metro (Janakpuri West - Botanical Garden)   Grey Line Metro (Dwarka - Najafgarh)

Delhi Metro Fare Chart

Distance Zones (KM)Monday - SaturdaySun & National Holidays
0 - 2₹ 10₹ 10
2 - 5₹ 20₹ 10
5 - 12₹ 30₹ 20
12 - 21₹ 40₹ 30
21- 32₹ 50₹ 40
Above 32₹ 60₹ 50


Special provision for Smart Card users
  • 10% discount continues on every journey made by the passengers using Smart Card.
  • An additional 10% discount will also be given to the passengers using smart card who exit from Metro system during off peak hours, i.e.
    • Start of revenue services to 08:00 AM.
    • From 12 Noon to 05:00 PM.
    • From 09:00 PM to closing of revenue services.
  • The discount is applicable from Monday to Saturday only except National Holidays.
Tourist Card
  • Tourist Card for 1 day and 3 days validay will be available for Rs.200/- and Rs. 500/- respectively. This includes refundable security deposit of Rs. 50/-.

Interesting Facts about Delhi Metro

  • Delhi metro managed by and owned by Delhi Metro Rail Corporation a joint venture between Govt. of NCT and Govt of India.
  • Its first operation started in 2002 from Welcome station to Tis Hajari Station on red line.
  • Delhi metro is busiest and largest metro system in India with most number of stations.
  • Delhi metro serving its transit system not only to Delhi city but also NCR cities including Gurgaon, Noida, Faridabad, Ghaziabad and Bahadurgarh.
  • Currently Delhi metro has 10 active metro lines and contains almost 350 km of tracks.
  • Delhi metro has various platform system including underground, elevated and ground level.
  • Delhi metro consists of radial lines, circular line and semi-circular line.
  • Delhi metro trains runs at upto 80km/h and stops at each stations for 20 sections normally.
  • Delhi metro trains have various numbers of coaches like 4, 6 or 8 coaches, have a frequency of 1-4 minutes during peak hours and 5-10 minutes during non-peak hours.
  • Hauz Khas metro station (Pink Line), 29 metres below the ground, is the deepest station while the crossing of Pink and Orange Lines in Dhaula Kuan metro station is the highest point on the system, 23.6 km above the ground.
  • Elattuvalapil Sreedharan (an Indian civil engineer and a retired IRSE officer), first Managing Director of Delhi Metro, is popularly called the Metro Man.

Latest Metro News

To save energy and provide a much better lighting experience, Delhi Metro has undertaken a massive drive to replace the conventional existing lights (Incandescent Bulbs, Fluorescent Lamps, CFL lamps etc.) with LED lights at 155 locations covering Metro stations, depots, parking etc. which were constructed/opened for public under DMRC’s Phase-I (2005) and Phase-II (2010).

To facilitate the passengers travelling on Rakshabandhan, the Delhi Metro on 22nd August, 2021 (Sunday), will begin operations early on its Phase 3 corridors. The Phase 3 sections on which Metro services generally start at 8:00 AM on Sundays, will begin services this Sunday at around 0600 hrs except Line-5 (from Mundka – Brigadier Hoshiar Singh) – 7 AM, Line 7 (from Majlis Park – Shiv Vihar) – 6.30 AM

To integrate the signaling system between recently opened Trilokpuri-Sanjay Lake and Mayur Vihar Pocket-1 section of Pink Line, the first and last train services to be effective from the night of 16.08.21 till 10.09.2021 on this Line will be as per given timings: First train service from both the ends (Majlis Park and Shiv Vihar) will commence at 6:30 AM (instead of present 6:00 AM) Similarly, the last train service from both the ends will start at 10:00 PM (instead of 11:00 PM at present).

Delhi Metro FAQs:

𝒜. Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) operates Delhi Metro system.

𝒜. First service of Delhi metro service begins on 24 December 2002.

𝒜. Delhi metro system has 10 Metro Lines (active/fucntional).

𝒜. Delhi metro trains have 4/6/8 coaches.

𝒜. Delhi metro timings are: Starting: 05:00 AM
Ending: 11:30 PM.

Views: 145029