Kolkata Metro Route

The Kolkata Metro is a rapid transit system serving the city of Kolkata in West Bengal, India. Currently Kolkata Metro network has 34 active stations. Find important and useful information like Kolkata Metro route, metro lines, service operation timings, first train, last train, route map, fare chart, top attractions near metro station, metro station nearby, news and more.

OperatorKolkata Metro Rail Corporation (KMRC)
Operation start24 October 1984
Number of lines2 Metro Lines
Train length4/6/8 Coaches
No. of stations34 Active Stations
Metro Timings⏱Starting | Ending
06:45 AM | 10:45 PM

◩ Kolkata Metro Lines (Terminal Stations)
Metro linesTerminal stationTerminal station
Blue LineDakshineswarKavi Subhash
Green LineSalt Lake Sector VEsplanade
  Purple Line (JokaEsplanade
  Red Line (NoaparaBarasat
  Pink Line (BaranagarBarrackpore
  Orange Line (Kavi SubhashBiman Bandar

Kolkata Metro Fare Chart

The fare is based on the pre-determined distance-slabs. Kolkata Metro has the lowest starting fare in the country of Rs. 5. The following is the revised zones and fare for single journey tokens and Smart Cards.

ZoneDistance (km)Line 1 FareLine 2 Fare
I0 - 2Rs. 5Rs. 5
II2 - 5Rs. 10Rs. 10
III5 - 10Rs. 15Rs. 20
IV10 - 20Rs. 20Rs. 30
V20 - 30Rs. 25-

On using Smart Cards for Kolkata Metro rides, you get extra ride value, as following slab:

Recharge ValueRide Value
Rs. 100Rs. 110
Rs. 200Rs. 220
Rs. 300Rs. 330
Rs. 500Rs. 550
Rs. 1000Rs. 1100

Please note:

  • Two new types of Tourist Smart Cards are available Tourist Smart Card – I and Tourist Smart Card – II. This type of smart card is for tourists and have unlimited rides.
  • Tourist Cards cost ₹250, valid for a day, and ₹550, valid for three days. A security deposit of ₹60 is also charged.
  • Refundable security deposit of Rs. 100 paybale at the time of purchase.

Interesting Facts about Kolkata Metro

  • The Kolkata Metro is a rapid transit system serving Kolkata in the Indian state of West Bengal.
  • The Kolkata Metro is the first planned and operational rapid transit system in India.
  • It was initially planned in the 1920s, but construction started in 1970s.
  • The foundation stone of the project was laid by Indira Gandhi, the Prime Minister of India, on 29 December 1972, and construction work started in 1973-74.
  • The first elevated stretch, from Bhawanipore (now Netaji Bhawan) to Esplanade, opened on 24 October 1984.
  • The first metro was driven by Tapan Kumar Nath and Sanjoy Sil.
  • It is the only metro in the country, completely owned and funded by the Ministry of Railways, and to be controlled by Indian Railways.
  • The metro network has a mix of underground stations, at-grade stations and elevated stations.
  • Currently two lines are operational, Line 1 from Noapara to Kavi Subhash and Line 2 from Salt Lake Sector-V to Salt Lake Stadium. 4 Lines are under construction and planned.
  • Kolkata Metro trains operate between 05:45 AM (first train) and 21:55 PM (last train).
  • Kolkata Metro has the lowest starting fare in the country starts from Rs. 5 to Rs. 30.
  • In 2013 a single type of Smart Card (General Smart Card) was introduced. Two new types of Tourist Smart Cards were also introduced (Tourist Smart Card – I and Tourist Smart Card – II). Online smart card recharge facility was launched on 1 July 2020.
  • Trains operate at an average speed of 55–60 km/h (34.18–37.28 mph) and stop for about 10 to 20 seconds at each station, depending on the crowd.
  • No full coach is reserved for women, but certain sections of seats in each compartment are reserved for women, senior citizens and the physically challenged.
  • The metro railway runs special night-long services during Durga Puja (Mahasaptami to Mahanavami), services start at 13:00 and operate till 04:00 the next day.

Kolkata Metro News


The Commissioner of Metro Rail Safety (CMRS) has given his approval to the Indian Railways to start commercial operation of Metro trains on the 6.5 km long Joka-Taratla Metro corridor of Kolkata Metro. This section has six stations including Joka, Thakurpukur, Sakherbazar, Behala Chowrasta, Behala Bazar and Taratala.

Beginning December 25 – Christmas Day – the Kolkata Metro will be running ten additional services every Saturday. With this, as many as 230 daily services—115 up and 115 down services—will be provided to commuters instead of the current 220, reports have said.

Kolkata Metro rolled on a Sunday after 104 days, along the north-south corridor. The last Sunday operation was on May 9, as services were halted from May 16, for the second Covid wave. Even as the city’s transport lifeline resumed on July 16, the state government only allowed five-day runs. Metro Railway has been offering special trains for essential workers across sectors on Saturdays.

Kolkata Metro FAQs:

𝒜. Kolkata Metro Rail Corporation (KMRC) operates Kolkata Metro system.

𝒜. First service of Kolkata metro service begins on 24 October 1984.

𝒜. Kolkata metro system has 2 Metro Lines (active/fucntional).

𝒜. Kolkata metro trains have 4/6/8.

𝒜. Kolkata metro timings are: 06:45 AM | 10:45 PM.