Mumbai Metro Route

The Mumbai Metro is a rapid transit system serving the city of Mumbai in Maharashtra, India. Currently Mumbai Metro network has 12 active stations. Find important and useful information like Mumbai Metro route, metro lines, service operation timings, first train, last train, route map, fare chart, top attractions near metro station, metro station nearby, news and more.

OperatorMumbai Metro Rail Corporation (MMRC)
Operation start8 June 2014
Number of lines1 Metro Lines
Train length4 Coaches
No. of stations12 Active Stations
Metro Timings⏱Starting | Ending
08:30 AM | 08:30 PM

◩ Mumbai Metro Lines (Terminal Stations)
Metro linesTerminal stationTerminal station
Blue LineVersovaGhatkopar
  Yellow Line (Dahisar WestD.N. Nagar
  Aqua Line (Cuffe ParadeAarey Depot
  Green Line (KasarvadavaliWadala
  Orange Line (KapurbawdiKalyan APMC
  Pink Line (Swami Samarth NagarVikhroli EEH
  Red Line (Dahisar EastAndheri (East)
  Gold Line (Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj AirportNavi Mumbai International Airport
  Red Line (Dahisar EastSubhash Chandra Bose Stadium
  Green Line (Gaimukh(Thane)Shivaji Chowk (Mira Road)
  Green Line (Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj TerminusGanesh Nagar
  Orange Line (Kalyan ApmcTaloja
  Purple Line (Mira RoadVirar
  Magenta Line (VikhroliKanjurmarg

Mumbai Metro Fare Chart

No. of StationsFare (Rs.)
Less than 3 Stations10
3 to 5 Stations20
6 to 9 Stations30
More than 9 Stations40

Store Value Pass (SVP) customers are eligible for Cash-Back as per the following
Recharge Amount (Rs.)Cash-back %Cash-back Amount (Rs.)
600+10%Rs.10 per Rs.100

Please note that the trip passes are not refundable and the remaining trip/amount cannot be carried forward.

  • Children upto 3 feet height can travel free on all days.
  • On Weekends children below 12 years can travel to any destination on a flat promotional fare of Rs 10/-.

Interesting Facts about Mumbai Metro

  • The Mumbai Metro is a rapid transit system serving the city of Mumbai, Maharashtra, and the wider metropolitan region.
  • It is being built in three phases over a 15-year period, with overall completion expected in 2025.
  • As of August 2020, Mumbai metro consisted of 1 operational line (Line 1 - elevated metro from Versova to Ghatkopar).
  • In June 2006, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh laid the foundation stone for the first phase of the Mumbai Metro project.
  • A successful trial run was conducted in May 2013, and first line of the system entered into operation on 8 June 2014.
  • Mumbai Metro fare starts Rs. 10 to Rs. 40 for Single Journey Token.
  • When completed, the core system will comprise eight high-capacity metro railway lines, spanning a total of 235 kilometres.
  • The 33.5-kilometre (20.8 mi) Colaba-Bandra-SEEPZ line will be built at a cost of Rs.21,000 crore (US$2.9 billion), and will be the city's first underground metro line.
  • MML-3 to be 100% Electricity Driven System, leading to zero carbon emission
  • Capacity of each train is approximately 2500 passengers.
  • The design speed of the train is 90 kmph. The commercial speed of the train will be 35 kmph including stoppages.
  • Automatic fare collection system and contact-less smart card will ensure "zero" revenue loss.
  • Penalties starts from Rs. 50 to Rs. 5000 or Imprisonment on various offences.
  • For the convenience of our passengers, there are many signages installed to guide you to the entrances and exits.
  • The metro station is divided into paid and unpaid area. The unpaid area houses the ticket counters, Ticket Issuing Machines (TIMs) and Remaining Value Checking Terminal (RVCTs). You can purchase a ticket and use it to enter the paid area through the AFC gates.
  • QR code Based Mobile tickets can be purchased through Paytm & Ridlr App.
  • Mumbai Metro has Black Box (like airplanes) to record all vital information (1st time in a Metro in India).
  • Metro has an average speed ~33 kmph, Maximum speed ~80 kmph, Design Speed ~ 90 kmph.
  • The 1st train will leave from Versova at 05:20 hrs and VIVO Ghatkopar at 05:29 hrs. The last train from Versova will leave at 23:20 hrs. The last train from VIVO Ghatkopar will leave at 23:46 hrs. But Subject to change from time to time.

Mumbai Metro News


Mumbai Metro Rail Corporation (MMRC) on Wednesday (30 November) completed 100 per cent tunnelling of Metro-3 corridor. The first section of the Mumbai Metro Line-3 between Aarey Colony and Bandra-Kurla Complex (BKC) will be operational by December 2023.

Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA) will complete the work of laying tracks on the route of two corridors of the metro in the next 12 days. With this, trial runs will be accelerated on the entire corridor of Metro 7 and Metro 2A. According to a senior MMRDA official, the track laying work has been completed on the 34 km long stretch of both the corridors. Only 571 meters of track is left to be laid near DN Nagar Metro Station. This work will also be completed by January 30.

The fare for the Navi Mumbai Metro, which is being constructed by The City and Industrial Development Corporation (CIDCO), will be between Rs 10 and 40. The CIDCO is developing four elevated corridors to make the public transport system of Navi Mumbai interconnect with different nodes. A trial run of Line-1, spanning 11.1 km with 11 stations and a depot at Taloja, was conducted in May this year.

Mumbai Metro FAQs:

𝒜. Mumbai Metro Rail Corporation (MMRC) operates Mumbai Metro system.

𝒜. First service of Mumbai metro service begins on 8 June 2014.

𝒜. Mumbai metro system has 1 Metro Lines (active/fucntional).

𝒜. Mumbai metro trains have 4.

𝒜. Mumbai metro timings are: 08:30 AM | 08:30 PM.